Nadal Wins 22nd Masters 1000 Title; Makes History


Former World Number 1 and fifth seed Rafael Nadal of Spain defeated World Number 7 Juan Martin del Potro of Argentina 4-6, 6-3, 6-4 in the final of BNP Paribas Open, Indian Wells to capture record breaking 22nd ATP Masters 1000 title. He surpassed Roger Federer who has 21 Masters 1000 titles. The title was Nadal’s third in the California desert where he was also victorious in 2007 and 2009. The win was Nadal’s 600th match win and he joined Federer as only active players to reach the mark.


Going into the final, Nadal had 7-3 head to head advantage over Del Potro. He started strongly as he broke Del Potro early on to take 3-0 lead. However, del Potro then won six out of 7 games by breaking Nadal in fifth and ninth games to eventually serve out the first set. He maintained his form and broke Nadal in the first game to take a 2-0 lead in the second set but Nadal was not to be denied. Down a break, he applied extra gear and got the break back in the sixth game and then broke his opponent again in the eighth game to serve for the second set successfully. That saw a shift in momentum as Nadal broke Del Potro in third game of the final set to take a 3-1 lead. The break was enough to give Nadal his 53rd career singles title.

By winning the title, Nadal earned 1000 ranking points and $1000000. He is on a 14 match winning streak and has won 3 consecutive titles, winning in Latin American clay court events at Sao Paulo and Acapulco before triumphing in Indian Wells. He will now play in Monte Carlo Masters 1000 event on clay next month.